Ethnic Restaurants in the Harrisonburg, VA area

My main course- the Euphrates, which is a traditional lamb and beef gyro. It's awesome!

There are actually a number of ethnic food restaurants in the Harrisonburg, VA area.  One might not think that such a small area like the valley would have such an array of different and foreign-types of food establishments, but over my journey I discovered a couple hidden treasures.

Although Google only highlighted one Harrisonburg, VA restaurant after I searched for ethnic restaurants in the Harrisonburg, VA area, there are definitely some that have yet to be discovered on a larger scale.  Of course, Taste of Thai and Taste of India both resulted from the search, but restaurants such as the Blue Nile Ethiopian Cuisine or Xenia A Kebab and Grille are great choices too and I will explore some of the former on the list.

One of my favorite restaurants in the Harrisonburg, VA area is Xenia A Kebab and Grille and I found out about this eatery from one of my co-workers.  I used to drive past this restaurant on a weekly basis, but I would never had tried it, unless it was recommended to me by a friend.  Of course, I had to do a review for my blog and you can check it out here for more information like the location and menu description!

Xenia A Kebab and Grille specializes in Mediterranean food, but they also offer dishes from the Middle East.  Everything about this small and inviting restaurant is awesome!  All of their ingredients are made fresh daily and their hummus is to die for.  If you enjoy pita, hummus, kebabs, gyros, baklava, among other authentic Mediterranean dishes, Xenia is the place to go in Harrisonburg, VA.

Our table plate, which consists of two main courses and side dishes that border the edge of the plate.

Another restaurant that I have visited and I also reviewed over this past semester is the Blue Nile Ethiopian Cuisine in downtown Harrisonburg, VA.  This restaurant was one of my favorites of my entire journey because I had never tasted Ethiopian dishes before and this was definitely a great restaurant for one’s first attempt at a strange, ethnic cuisine.

My experience at the Blue Nile was great; my friend and I ordered our dishes and we thought that was all that would entail.  But, we were surprisingly wrong.  At this restaurant, everyone’s main dish in your party comes out on the same plate, along with a number of small portions of appetizers.  I think it was a great way to expose their clientele to some of their other options.  Check out my blog for more information!

A traditional Thai chicken stir-fry main dish, which is served over rice.

Taste of Thai is one of the more popular ethnic restaurants in the Harrisonburg, VA area and I’m sure a large portion of the Harrisonburg residents have tried out this restaurant in Thai food is something that intrigues you.

Obviously, they specialize in Thai cooking, and it is definitely worth taking the time to visit this eatery.  But, I’m not going to spend much time on this restaurant.  If you would like more information about the Taste of Thai, check out my blog post!

My main dish consisted of ground beef, potatoes, vegetables and rice, with their homemade spice.

Another ethnic restaurant that I reviewed and really enjoyed is the Indian American Cafe in downtown Harrisonburg, VA.  Although this restaurant is somewhat hard to see while driving down Main Street in downtown, it is a great place to try a foreign taste!

The portions at the restaurant were very generous and the food was excellent.  Obviously, they specialize in Indian dishes, and make sure you ask about their “Spicy Scale” as I was unaware on my first visit.  But, it was definitely worth the price and I’m glad I expanded my taste buds to this type of food.  Check out my blog for more information about this restaurant!

An ethnic restaurant that I did not have a chance to try is the Taste of India—I have heard some great commentary about this establishment and I wish I had a chance to try this place.  I will definitely have to visit it when I return to Harrisonburg in January.

If you enjoy Indian cuisine, I would definitely suggest either visiting the Indian American Café in downtown Harrisonburg, VA, or the Taste of Thai, which sounds great!  Check out the ethnic restaurant search for more information!

As for my next post, I will explore all of the Spanish-style restaurants in the Harrisonburg, VA area.  I love Spanish food and there definitely are a number of Mexican-style restaurants in the valley.  Make sure to continue to check my blog posts!

About Harrisonburg Restaurants Reviewed

I am 22 years old and I am a senior year at JMU. I interned with the sports department at WTTG Fox 5 over the summer. My favorite sport is baseball, but I like football and mostly any other sport as well. I like to hang out with my girlfriend, friends, family; I'm up for anything and I am a very chill person. My career aspirations are to become either a sports journalist or a sports producer, or a combination of both!
This entry was posted in Ethiopian cuisine, Greek Restaurants, Indian Restaurants, Thai Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ethnic Restaurants in the Harrisonburg, VA area

Leave a Reply

