Joshua Wilton House and Local Chop and Grill House Harrisonburg, VA

Since I am not in Harrisonburg, VA this week as it is Thanksgiving Break, I have decided to list some options that I think would be great restaurant choices in the area that I am not going to visit while for my blog because I don’t have that much time left in the semester.

The front of the Joshua Wilton House, courtesy of google images

The first restaurant that I think would be a great restaurant to try out if you are looking for a fancy, elegant restaurant, I would definitely suggest the Joshua Wilton House.  This establishment is located at 412 South Main Street in Harrisonburg, VA.  The Joshua Wilton House is an inn and a restaurant.  Here is a link to a map for further clarification!

They serve American style cuisine, but it is definitely upscale dishes.  For example, they offer duck, scallops, butternut squash, salmon, and filet mignon, among other items on their menu.  Here is a link to their dinner menu.  Also, here is a link to their dessert menu.

Joshua Wilton House's Tomato, Basil and Mozzarella appetizer, courtesy of their website.

The Joshua Wilton House also offers a large selection of wines, beers and mixed drinks.  Here is a link to their beverage menu if you are interested!

Their website is very interactive and has a lot of links for you to check out.  Here is a link to a video of their chef preparing some of their famous dishes and a nice tour of the establishment.  Here is another link to some of their upcoming events.

If I had more time in the semester, I would definitely love to try out this restaurant, since it seems to be one of the best in the valley.  “My husband and I ate dinner at the Joshua Wilton house and enjoyed every morsel. Breakfast the next morning was exquisite. We enjoyed the huge berries and fresh juice that was served.”   Check out some other reviews if you would like!

Another restaurant that I think would be a great choice in the Harrisonburg, VA area would be the Local Chop and Grill House, which is located at 56 West Gay Street in Harrisonburg, VA.  Here is a link to a map for further clarification!

Local Chop and Grill House's front, courtesy of google images.

Located in the old City Produce Exchange Building in downtown Harrisonburg, VA, although this restaurant is only a year old, the building has a great history, as does the Joshua Wilton House.  This seems like one of the more elegant, yet still affordable restaurants in the valley.

Their dining menu is more expansive than the Joshua Wilton House, as it offers more appetizers, salads, entrée options.  Also, the Local Chop and Grill House offers a selection of burgers, which the Joshua Wilton House does not. This restaurant also offers a unique and vast selection of wine, beer and specialty drinks, and a bar menu for your convenience!

Local Chop and Grill House's duck platter, courtesy of their website.

The Local Chop and Grill House allows you to choose the way in which you would like the chef to prepare your food; there are four options, all of which are displayed in their menu. They also offer a number of dipping sauces that come with your entrée, which are also located in their menu !  Check it out!

The Local Chop and Grill House also has a gallery of some of their entrées if you would like to see some other images.  Check it out here!  Also, they offer a blog, in which they post important information regarding special events and other important announcements that you should know!

According to Erin of Harrisonburg, “The restaurant is beautiful and the menu unique, as you get to choose exactly how you like your selection seasoned and prepared as well as pick from a wide variety of sauces, which are served on the side.”  Check out some more reviews if you would like!

Overall, I think I would definitely love to try both of these restaurants if I had more time in the semester, but I might have to try these two next semester when I return to Harrisonburg.  Both of these restaurants seem to be great date-night restaurants.  So, if you are looking for a romantic, fancy restaurant in the Harrisonburg area, I would recommend trying either or both of these restaurants!

About Harrisonburg Restaurants Reviewed

I am 22 years old and I am a senior year at JMU. I interned with the sports department at WTTG Fox 5 over the summer. My favorite sport is baseball, but I like football and mostly any other sport as well. I like to hang out with my girlfriend, friends, family; I'm up for anything and I am a very chill person. My career aspirations are to become either a sports journalist or a sports producer, or a combination of both!
This entry was posted in American Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Joshua Wilton House and Local Chop and Grill House Harrisonburg, VA

  1. Great precise info, I’ve been searching on this topic for a while. Bookmarked and recommended!

Leave a Reply

