Union Station Harrisonburg, Va

I was going to go to Sam’s Hot Dog Stand, but my girlfriend suggested trying Union Station.  She highly recommended it and I completely agree with her.  Union Station serves sandwiches, subs, filet minion, steak, and swordfish, among other items and is located in downtown Harrisonburg.

 

Union Station is located at the intersection of West Market Street and South Liberty Street

 

Union Station is located at 128 West Market Street in the old Wetsel Seed Building.  The building is an old style business building and the restaurant is on the second floor.  The interior of the restaurant is very fresh and new, as the establishment opened in April of this year.  Here is a map for further clarification.

What really makes this restaurant stand out from any other restaurant that I have been to is the interior really is basically history book of old downtown Harrisonburg.  On each table, there is a photograph of a building that either is still there or was located in downtown and the waiter leaves a pamphlet of the history of the picture.  It is a very interesting experience if you enjoy history.

 

Our picture was of the original train station in downtown Harrisonburg, VA

 

The staff is very nice and helpful from the host to our waitress to the manager.  Our waitress explained the menu and the special of the day and answered a couple of questions that we had.  She was attentive and in a great mood.  The atmosphere in the restaurant is fun and enjoyable and I would love to go back.

The menu is unique and offers a wide range of American and Irish food.  Union Station serves chicken bacon focaccia sandwich, a roma tomato, spinach and basil fettuccine, a deep fried burger and some other classic dishes.  Check out this link to their menu for complete items and prices!  There is also a link to their bar and brunch menu (under the menu tab).

 

My main course consisted of grilled chicken with lettuce, tomato, bacon and mayo served with fries on the side.

 

As for my entrée, I chose the chicken bacon focaccia and it was fantastic.  It was something that I would never have thought of, but it was delicious.  The chicken was grilled perfectly and the bread was great.  The fries were some of the best that I have ever had.

My girlfriend decided on the roma tomato, spinach and basil fettuccine; I had a taste of it and it was very tasty.  Her meal also came with bread and butter on the side, which she said was very good as well.

 

My girlfriend's main dish consisted of pasta with roma tomatoes, spinach and basil.

 

You would think that the prices would be over the top, but both of our meals were less than $10 and most entrées average between $10 and $15.  Of course, there are a couple entrées around $20, but those include the filet minion and the rib eye.

Victoria of Harrisonburg says, “Food, fun, history, and atmosphere…Union Station has it all. Not only do the food quality and service standards exceed every other comparable restaurant in Harrisonburg, but apparently other downtown restaurant owners are so intimidated by the raised bar, (of standards), that they feel the need to copy original menu ideas.”

For more reviews of Union Station, click here!

 

The restaurant has a huge capacity with two dining rooms and a separate bar area.

 

Overall, I would definitely suggest this restaurant to anyone in the Harrisonburg area.  It is a really interesting restaurant and the building has a great history.  The food was fantastic, the service was great and the experience was awesome!  I would definitely return!

If you have been to Union Station and enjoyed their food, you might want to check out Texas Roadhouse.  It’s not exactly the same, but it has many similarities.  For example, they both serve ribs, chicken dishes, steaks, burgers.  The atmosphere is great there too.

The next restaurant that I am going to attempt will be the Little Grill Collective off of North Main Street in Harrisonburg, VA.

About Harrisonburg Restaurants Reviewed

I am 22 years old and I am a senior year at JMU. I interned with the sports department at WTTG Fox 5 over the summer. My favorite sport is baseball, but I like football and mostly any other sport as well. I like to hang out with my girlfriend, friends, family; I'm up for anything and I am a very chill person. My career aspirations are to become either a sports journalist or a sports producer, or a combination of both!
This entry was posted in American Restaurants, Irish Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

