Golden China Harrisonburg, Va

 

Golden China is located across I-81 from the Walmart Shopping Center.

 

Golden China prides itself on being the first Chinese restaurant in Harrisonburg and has been serving delicious Chinese food since 1972.  Golden China offers a buffet, but also has a full menu for take-out and dine-in.  Golden China is rated number 5 on the DNR’s reader reviews!

Golden China is located at 1005 East Market Street next to the Exxon Mobile, and in front of the Kentucky Fried Chicken.  Although it is somewhat hard to see, the location is great because it is right off of route 81, which I’m sure helps deliver a large portion of their customers.  Here is a map for further clarification.

 

Golden China is located at the intersection of Cantrell Avenue and East Market Street.

 

The structure of the restaurant is very authentic, as there is a pagoda above the entrance.  The authenticity is carried into the restaurant, as the décor is an older-style emphasizing Chinese traditions.  There are many ancient paintings on the walls, along with Chinese music playing low in the background.  The service was prompt and courteous.  Here are some pictures of the inside of Golden China!

As for their menu, it includes soups, egg foo young, fried rice, lo mein, beef/chicken/pork dishes, spicy dishes, chow mein, chop suey, and house specialties among other items.  Here is a link to their menu.   There is also the buffet portion of the restaurant, which I chose to try.  Basically, it consists of what most Chinese buffets have, but their dishes are some of the best that I have ever had.

 

Their food is fresh and cooked to perfection!

 

I overheard a customer raving about the food to a friend while I was waiting in line.  “I come here every couple of weeks because they have the best Chinese food in town.”  I would have to agree with him.  Most of the Chinese buffets around town are good, but this so far is my favorite Chinese restaurant.

For my first dish, I chose the fried rice, lo mein, chicken and broccoli, sweet and sour chicken, fried wontons, and general tso’s chicken.  The wontons were definitely the best that I have had in a long time.  They weren’t too crispy, and the meat was excellent.  As for my second plate, I had to try to the crab rangoon, because it was made in a rectangular shape instead of the normal flower-like pastry; it was very good.  Also, their egg rolls were delicious and very unique.

 

The green beans and the bourbon chicken were both cooked perfectly.

 

As for their menu prices, everything with the exception of seafood specialties is under $10, and the dinner buffet from Sunday to Thursday is only $9.50.  On Friday and Saturday nights, it’s a couple of dollars more expensive and the restaurant is open an hour later.  During the day, there are lunch specials as well.  Here is a link to some special coupon offers on their website.

According to Vickie and Kier, “This was our 1st restaurant when we moved to the area and we have been eating ther almost every week since. The place is always clean and friendly and the food is excellent. A real family place to enjoy a new culture.”  Click here for more reviews of this restaurant!

Overall, I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone in Harrisonburg who is looking for an authentic and fun Chinese atmosphere that combines good food and low prices.  Golden China is definitely one of the best Chinese buffets that I have been to thus far into my journey.  Here is a link to their website if you have any other questions.

If you are like Golden China and are looking for another Chinese buffet in Harrisonburg that is similar to this one, you might want to check out China Jade!

The next restaurant that I will venture to is the Blue Nile, located in downtown Harrisonburg.  Check out my blog on Thursday night!

If you have any questions, concerns or suggestions, just leave me a comment and I will be sure to get back to you as soon as possible!

About Harrisonburg Restaurants Reviewed

I am 22 years old and I am a senior year at JMU. I interned with the sports department at WTTG Fox 5 over the summer. My favorite sport is baseball, but I like football and mostly any other sport as well. I like to hang out with my girlfriend, friends, family; I'm up for anything and I am a very chill person. My career aspirations are to become either a sports journalist or a sports producer, or a combination of both!
This entry was posted in Chinese Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Golden China Harrisonburg, Va

  1. Awesome posting man, I incredibly like the look and also the feel of this kind of blogging site. You write certainly well, you just need to be a aware guy. Will undoubtedly come back

Leave a Reply

