Indian American Café Downtown Harrisonburg, Va

 

The Indian American Cafe is just a block after the court square coming from the south on South Main Street.

 

“Great food! I agree hands down best Indian food in the valley blows the other Indian restaurant out of the water,” said to Steve and Becky.

Indian American Café is an authentic Indian establishment in downtown Harrisonburg and currently is voted by readers the number one restaurant on the Daily News Record website. Their menu is expansive and a rare type of cuisine found in town.  Their menu includes items such as boneless chicken curry, chicken saag, and somosas among other dishes.

The restaurant is located right off of South Main Street in downtown right after the court square on the left.  It is kind of hard to see, but it is the second door on the left before the intersection of South Main Street and Elizabeth Street.  Here is a map for further clarification.

 

The Indian American Cafe is right off of South Main Street- there is parking lot right off of Elizabeth Street.

 

The atmosphere is calm and relaxing, and the smell from the cooking fills the restaurant.  The service was very welcoming and helped me and my friend through the menu, answering a couple questions.  Here is a picture of the inside of the dining room.

We decided to order the meat somosa as an appetizer; the somosa is basically an empanada with ground beef and peas.  It was excellent.  The seasoning on the ground beef really made it stand out.  Take a look at the rest of their menu!  Also, they offer a different lunch menu.  Check it out here!

 

The meat somosa is composed of ground beef and peas in a fried pastry.

 

As for my main course, I couldn’t decide from a couple of different items under the Indian Dishes portion of the menu.  When I finally decided to try the Keema Alu, my waiter asked me how spicy I would like to have my meal on a 1-4 spicy scale with 4 being the most spicy.  Well, I just two because I thought that would be appropriate.  The waiter overheard me say that I don’t really care for spicy, and he recommended that I only get a one.

And that was a great decision because my meal was almost too much spice for me, but it was delicious.  If you do not like spicy, I would definitely recommend only ordering a one.  My meal was huge, as I could only finish half of it and I took the rest home.  My friend ordered the lamb curry and he said it was the best he has ever had.

 

The Keema Alu was served with rice, potatoes, peas and peppers with herbs and spices.

 

The Indian American Café only accepts cash and checks.  So, make sure you stop by the bank before heading to the café.  After we ordered our food, the waiter confirmed that we knew they do not accept credit cards.  Also, it is open from 11am-2:30pm for lunch and then 5pm-9pm for dinner.  Check out their website for more information.

Overall, I really enjoyed my experience at the Indian American Café; I think I would have to say that this is my favorite restaurant thus far into my journey.  The food was different and something that I rarely ever eat.  It was amazing and I would definitely recommend it to any who can take a little spice.

Click here for other reviews!  If you would like to try a restaurant similar to this one in the Harrisonburg area, there is a Taste of India restaurant located off of University Boulevard off of route 33.

I have decided to try my hand with Golden China, which is the first-ever Chinese restaurant in the Harrisonburg area, but is kind of hidden off of route 33.  I have read flattering reviews for this restaurant, so check out my blog on Sunday!

About Harrisonburg Restaurants Reviewed

I am 22 years old and I am a senior year at JMU. I interned with the sports department at WTTG Fox 5 over the summer. My favorite sport is baseball, but I like football and mostly any other sport as well. I like to hang out with my girlfriend, friends, family; I'm up for anything and I am a very chill person. My career aspirations are to become either a sports journalist or a sports producer, or a combination of both!
This entry was posted in Indian Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

