Xenia: A Kebab and Grille Harrisonburg, Va

 

Located across from the JMU Athletic Fields off of Reservoir Road.

 

For my next restaurant visit, I decided to try my luck at a Mediterranean eatery this week.  Xenia A Kebab and Grille combines Eastern European and Mediterranean spices to create very flavorful and diverse dishes.

Xenia is located at 219 Burgess Road in the Harrisonburg Crossing Shopping Center, where Walmart is located, off of Reservoir Road.  There is a Chipotle and a Qdoba on both sides of Xenia; check out this map for directions.

 

There are four tables and two booths inside of Xenia.

 

Xenia is a family place, with fast service and a rare cuisine found here in Harrisonburg. Kebobs and gyros are not the most prevalent dishes in this town and that is one of the reasons why Xenia has not attracted as much clientele, especially among students.Xenia is a family place, with fast service and a rare cuisine found here in Harrisonburg. Kebobs and gyros are not the most prevalent dishes in this town and that is one of the reasons why Xenia has not attracted as much clientele, especially among students.

Their menu is expansive and eclectic. There are salad and vegetarian options, kebobs, specialty sandwiches, specialty kebobs, Mediterranean sides, desserts, and homemade sauces, as well as a few types of Middle Eastern food. Some of the sides include humus and pita, tabouli, falafel, baba ghanoush, their signature tomato salad and their homemade baklava as a dessert.  Check out the entire menu here!

 

My main course, the Euphrates, a traditional gyro with lamb and beef.

 

As for my main course, I chose the Euphrates, which has tender pieces of slow-cooked beef and lamb Gyro Kebab on pita bread flavored with hummus and piled high with lettuce, tomato, Kalamata olives and feta cheese and your choice of a homemade sauce.

I love baklava and had to try their homemade dessert because I knew it was going to meet my expectations, and it did.  Their baklava was the best that I have ever had.

 

The traditional Mediterranean dessert, Baklava.

 

My meal cost me less than $15 and I bought an appetizer and a dessert along with the main course.  Their portions are big and their prices are very reasonable.  Their prices are included in the menu.

The service at Xenia is great for a number of reasons.  The restaurant is so small that there is only one waitress working at a time and she is able to serve everyone very quickly and happily.  The staff is always smiling and willing to help with any problems.  The atmosphere is upbeat and fun.

As an attraction for college students, Xenia offers a 10% discount for JMU, EMU and Bridgewater College students who bring their college identification cards with them.  Periodically, Xenia sends out flyers for buy one get one free, or a free side with an entree purchase.  So look for flyers in the mail!

Check out some the restaurant’s main website if you have any other questions or concerns.  It also has the hours of operation and reviews.  Here is another website you can check out some other reviews about Xenia!  Jeremy H from Harrisonburg says, “Their pita bread is amazing.  And who would have ever guessed that a grilled kebab would go so well with boardwalk fries?  They have a pretty extensive menu, and I’ve never had a bad thing off of it.”

Overall, I had a great experience at Xenia and would definitely recommend anyone who likes Mediterranean/Eastern European style food to visit this eatery because their food is great, their service is awesome and it’s a fun and different place in Harrisonburg.  If you like Xenia, you might also want to try Dave’s Taverna, as they serve gyros as well!

Let me know what you think, if you have any comments or questions for me by posting comments!  I am glad to answer any questions, and if you have any suggestions of where I should visit next, I would be glad to take your advice!

The next restaurant that I am going to visit is Dona Rosa!  I will be posting this later this week. Check it out!

About Harrisonburg Restaurants Reviewed

I am 22 years old and I am a senior year at JMU. I interned with the sports department at WTTG Fox 5 over the summer. My favorite sport is baseball, but I like football and mostly any other sport as well. I like to hang out with my girlfriend, friends, family; I'm up for anything and I am a very chill person. My career aspirations are to become either a sports journalist or a sports producer, or a combination of both!
This entry was posted in Greek Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Xenia: A Kebab and Grille Harrisonburg, Va

  1. Joanne Karunakaran says:

    Alex,

    I enjoy that restaurant very much 🙂 Glad you do too! I love their Baba Ghanoush and Pita. And yes, their Baklava is scrumptious!
    Friends of mine plan to open a Turkish-inspired Doener-Kebab place soon….I’ll keep you posted!

    Happy eating,

    Joanne

  2. Gina Martellacci says:

    That is my favorite Mediterranean place by far. I wish it could be moved to New Jersey. The Meze Five is amazing; I would suggest it to any newcomer. The owners are very personable and make your experience enjoyable. Great choice!

  3. Shanna Hammerbacher says:

    This is definitely one of my favorite places! I also love the baba ghanoush with Pita and recommend the Madrid.

  4. I like reading your website for the reason that you can always get us fresh and cool stuff, I feel that I ought to at least say thanks for your hard work.

    – Henry

    http://www.rachatdecredit.net/reglement-de-la-dette-avec-un-rachat-de-credit-unique.html

  5. beckafly says:

    I love Xenia’s (I was actually there for lunch today). Their food is amazing, the service is great and the prices are perfect.

Leave a Reply

