Sushi Jako Japanese and Korean Restaurant Harrisonburg, Va

 

The entrance to the restaurant.

 

For my first restaurant choice, I decided to go this small, but very well-known Japanese restaurant right off of Neff Avenue in Harrisonburg.  I checked out the Daily News Record and found that this restaurant is the number one rated among its viewers.

Why would I choose this eatery to visit for my first restaurant critique then?  I chose this restaurant because I’m sure that not many college students have heard of this place or even seen this place because its location is somewhat hard to find and the food is eclectic.  Personally, I have never heard of this place, and neither have any of my friends here at school.

Sushi Jako is located at 182 Neff Avenue in the shopping center right before you hit the Valley Mall.  It’s facing the mall and is right next to Inca’s Secret, a Peruvian Restaurant.  For directions and a map, check out this link.

It is a very small, quaint establishment and it is family owned.  The service was great, as we were greeted upon arrival and asked to choose wherever we wanted to sit.  The capacity is only about 40 people, which about 8 tables, mostly seating 4, with a couple larger family-sized tables.

 

Cafe Jako's Menu.

 

Here is a link to their regular menu if you would like to check it out.  Also, there is a separate sushi menu.  For my meal, I ordered the beef fried rice, which comes with a house salad with ginger dressing; the dressing really made the salad great.

The beef fried rice was almost too much for me to eat, but I was hungry and it was very appetizing.  I think what really made the taste great was their flavor as all the sauces/dressings are homemade; the sushi also is made right in front of you.

 

My main course.

 

Although I do not like sushi at all, there are many other options to choose from.  I think that might be one of the reasons that this restaurant does not cater to students as it does to the regular public.  My friend and I were the only college students there, as the rest of the clientele was either older or families.

The prices range from $10, which is the price of the beef fried rice, to about $15 for different combinations of sushi.  I think that this restaurant is very well priced.  They also offer party platters and gift certificates are available as well.

For more information,  there phone number is 540-438-7278.  They are open Monday through Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. and closed on Sunday.  They offer dine-in and take-out only, no delivery.

If you would like to check out some of the reviews from others about this restaurant, check it out here.  Also, Sushi Jako is rated the best Japanese restaurant in all of Virginia, this stat was found here, and there are more reviews as well.

Submitted anonymously by a college student, “I love, love, love JAKO! The food is amazing, the restaurant is beautiful and the service is friendly and anticipatory — my drink never failed to get below half full, my dirty plates were cleared immediately, and the waitress was pleasant and kind. I order takeout ALL the time but a visit to the restaurant is a must!”

Overall, I had a great experience at this establishment and I was very impressed with the quality of the service and the food.  I would definitely recommend this to my friends and family.  The prices are very reasonable and the location is very close to JMU, once you find it.

About Harrisonburg Restaurants Reviewed

I am 22 years old and I am a senior year at JMU. I interned with the sports department at WTTG Fox 5 over the summer. My favorite sport is baseball, but I like football and mostly any other sport as well. I like to hang out with my girlfriend, friends, family; I'm up for anything and I am a very chill person. My career aspirations are to become either a sports journalist or a sports producer, or a combination of both!
This entry was posted in Japanese Restaurants, Korean Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sushi Jako Japanese and Korean Restaurant Harrisonburg, Va

  1. soon Hong says:

    Hi^^
    this is “soon” I am the owner(chef) for sushi jako….
    Thank you for your review. I’m so happy this morning.
    I found wrong phone number on review sushi jako phone number is 540-434-7278.
    thank you again. Hope see you again soon~~~~~^^

Leave a Reply

